Chicago 2020 Reaction Modeling workshop

Springtime Workshop
Applied Geochemical Reaction Modeling
NOW OFFERED ONLINE • 5-8 May 2020

Register Now

Please join us online for two days of hands-on training in applied geochemical reaction modeling using The Geochemist's Workbench®. The workshop will be presented as a fully interactive online meeting for four consecutive half-days, from 09:00 to 12:30 CDT (14:00 to 17:30 UTC).

What you will learn. Following a fully hands-on format, you will learn to construct, trace, and interpret models of reaction in multi-component geochemical systems. Specific topics covered include:

  • Fluid mixing
  • Multicomponent equilibrium
  • Buffering reactions
  • Reaction, mass transfer kinetics
  • Kd, Freundlich, Langmuir sorption
  • Surface complexation
  • Polythermal reaction and mixing
  • Electrochemistry
  • Microbial catalysis and growth
  • Case studies and examples
  • Stability and phase diagrams
  • Effective graphical presentation

More information? Contact workshop support. Can't come? Consider an alternative from our 2020 workshop lineup.


I was very impressed with the GWB Fate and Transport course in Johannesburg. It was well presented and very informative. I would recommend the course to any of my peers. Thank you, Brian and Craig!

– Altus Huisamen, Geo Pollution Technologies, Pretoria


Instructors

The workshop will be presented by Brian Farrell and Jia Wang. Brian and Jia are Geochemists at Aqueous Solutions LLC, maker of The Geochemist's Workbench®.

Brian Farrell
Brian Farrell

Brian Farrell has many years of experience in developing and applying geochemical and reactive transport models. He is expert in aquifer microbiology, geochemical modeling, and reactive transport in geochemical systems. Brian has taught short courses in North and South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Australasia.

Jia Wang is an aqueous and isotope geochemist and a reactive transport modeler with special expertise in weathering and the critical zone. She has many years of experience as an instructor at the undergraduate and graduate levels, and as a noted mentor to less experienced students at the secondary through graduate levels.

Jia Wang
Jia Wang

Registration

Register Now

Space is limited, so sign up early. The registration fee of $699 includes all course materials.

Full-time students currently registered in a university degree program can register at the reduced rate of $599. Please bring current student identification to the workshop.

We are pleased to welcome back participants from our previous workshops at the special price of $599. For fastest verification, please sign up with the email address you used registering for the earlier course.

Each registered participant will receive a free 60-day license to The Geochemist's Workbench® Professional version. We will ask you to bring to the course a laptop with the software installed and running.

Registrations may be transfered to another participant at no charge, and are fully refundable until 30 days before the workshop. Liability in the event of workshop cancellation or other eventuality is limited to refund of the registration fee.


How to participate

Plan to enjoy this online workshop from the comfort of your own home or office! We will use a secure video conferencing platform that allows participants to ask questions, share their screens, and generally interact with the instructors and other participants.

Please plan to join the online meeting room from 14:00 to 17:30 UTC, or:

London 15:00–18:30
Paris 16:00–19:30
Beijing 22:00–01:30
San Francisco 07:00–10:30
Chicago 09:00–12:30
New York 10:00–13:30

We will take periodic breaks between instructional units over the course of each session.

Please expect an email containing a meeting ID and password in the days leading up to the workshop.


Before the workshop

About a week ahead of the workshop, we will send you a free 60-day license to The Geochemist's Workbench® Professional, along with two pdf files.

  • We think you will be happiest if you have two computer screens available. That way, you will be able to take part in the workshop on one screen, while you use the other to run the software.
  • Please make sure the software is installed and activated before joining the workshop.
  • The first pdf file holds the complete set of PowerPoint slides shown by workshop instructors, in chronologic order, for your reference before and after the workshop. We recommend you print and spiral bind the second pdf file, containing the workbook you will use to complete hands-on exercises.

Hosts and sponsors

The workshop is being held thanks to the generous efforts of our hosts and sponsors:

The Geochemist's Workbench Illini Center Aqueous Solutions